It’s no secret that smoking causes irreparable harm not only to the lungs, but also to other organs and systems of the body, and is the reason for the development of many pathological processes. The bad habit of “blowing smoke” very often causes serious diseases of the oral cavity, namely stomatitis, it is also called smoker’s leukoplakia.

Smoker

Stomatitis is an inflammation of the mucous membrane of the oral cavity, therefore, in addition to smoking, other factors play an important role: eating habits (love of spicy, sour, hot food), the use of strong alcoholic beverages, the use of certain drugs, vitamin deficiency, some allergic reactions, etc. Tobacco smoke destroys beneficial bacteria from the surface of the mucosa, microflora are disturbed, and stomatitis is formed.
Despite the fact that stomatitis is a disease that occurs in every second baby (of course, for other reasons) – heavy smokers should not let the situation go by its own accord, as this can be extremely dangerous. Therefore, treatment should be carried out in a timely manner.

Tooth with bacteria

Dentists at the Dudko & Sons clinic recommend taking the symptoms of stomatitis in adults seriously. Since if the irritating factor is not eliminated for a long time and proper treatment is not observed, the disease can transform into a malignant form. Tobacco smoke contains a large amount of harmful substances: nicotine, tar oils, hydrocyanic acid, hydrogen sulfide, ammonium, carbon monoxide, phenols. By itself, nicotine during smoking does not have a significant effect on the mucous membranes of the oral cavity and respiratory tract, but purine, which is formed upon its destruction, is a very dangerous substance that has a high carcinogenic effect. Nicotine stomatitis occurs in 13% of patients with various dental diseases. Their refusal of treatment or the improper implementation of the doctor’s recommendations can lead to serious complications and even cancer of the oral cavity.

Stomatitis adult photos. Inflammation on the lower lip

Features of nicotine stomatitis in adults

Inflammation of the oral cavity, which developed as a result of regular smoking, has its own characteristics. Namely, the main focus of inflammation is located in the palate. This is due to the fact that when tightened, it is the palate that suffers the most, falling under a stream of tobacco smoke. Fortunately, our body is designed so that over time, a protective mechanism is triggered – a more dense and roughened, keratinized epithelial tissue begins to replace the normal epithelium at the site of chronic inflammation. However, such a protective reaction does not always have time to develop. Often, ulcers appear at the site of inflammation, which can be complicated by the attachment of a bacterial infection. Inflammation can also spread to the gingival mucosa, to cover the salivary glands.

Adult stomatitis. Inflammation of the entire mucous membrane

Treatment for stomatitis caused by smoking?

Some people consider stomatitis a smoking companion and are convinced that it does not need treatment. Unfortunately, this is a dangerous fallacy. With the transition of the disease to the chronic stage, it is complicated by the appearance of ulcers, and this is excellent soil for the propagation of pathogens and the development of pathologies.

Therefore, when a problem occurs, most of us wonder how to treat stomatitis? First of all, it is necessary to quit smoking, thereby giving the palate an opportunity to heal and drag on healthy tissue. In no case should you let the situation drift, do not self-medicate and appear to the doctor. It is necessary to carry out therapeutic treatment of gums and sanitation of the oral cavity. You can use topical preparations, various gels.

Make an appointment or consult

We will call you back within 15 - 20 minutes

Ни для кого не секрет, что курение наносит непоправимый вред не только легким, но и другим органам и системам организма, является причиной развития множества патологических процессов. Вредная привычка «попускать дым» очень часто становится причиной серьёзных заболеваний ротовой полости, а именно стоматита, его ещё называют лейкоплакия курильщика.

Стоматит курильщика

Стоматит — это воспаление слизистой оболочки ротовой полости, поэтому помимо курения немаловажную роль играют и другие факторы: особенности питания (любовь к острой, кислой, горячей пище), употребление крепких алкогольных напитков, прием некоторых лекарств, авитаминоз, некоторые аллергические реакции и др. Табачный дым уничтожает полезных бактерий с поверхности слизистой, нарушается микрофлора и образуется стоматит.
Несмотря на то, что стоматит — это заболевание, которое встречается у каждого второго младенца (разумеется, по другим причинам) — заядлым курильщикам не стоит пускать ситуацию на самотек, так как это может быть крайне опасно. Поэтому лечение должно проводиться своевременно.

Зуб с бактериями

Стоматологи клиники “Дудко и сыновья” рекомендуют серьёзно относиться к симптомам заболевания стоматита у взрослых. Так как если же раздражающий фактор не устраняется в течение длительного времени и не соблюдается надлежащее лечение, то заболевание может трансформироваться в злокачественную форму. Табачный дым содержит большое количество вредных веществ: никотин, дегтярные масла, синильную кислоту, сероводород, аммоний, окись углерода, фенолы. Сам по себе никотин при курении не оказывает значительного действия на слизистую полости рта и дыхательных путей, а вот пурин, образующийся при его разрушении весьма опасное вещество, которое обладает высоким канцерогенным действием. Никотиновый стоматит встречается у 13% больных с различными стоматологическими заболеваниями. Их отказ от лечения или не надлежащее выполнение рекомендаций врача могут привести к серьёзным осложнениям и даже раку полости рта.

Стоматит взрослых фото. Воспаление на нижней губе

Особенности никотинового стоматита у взрослых

Воспаление ротовой полости, которое развилось вследствие регулярного курения, имеет свои особенности. А именно, основной очаг воспаления располагается в области нёба. Это обусловлено тем, что при затягивании именно нёбо страдает больше всех, попадая под струю табачного дыма. К счастью наш организм устроен так, что со временем срабатывает защитный механизм — нормальный эпителий в месте хронического воспаления начинает замещать более плотная и шероховатая, ороговевшая эпителиальная ткань. Однако такая защитная реакция успевает развиться не всегда. Часто на месте воспаления появляются язвы, которые могут осложниться присоединением бактериальной инфекции. Воспаление также может распространиться на слизистую десен, охватить слюнные железы.

Стоматит у взрослых фото. Воспаление всей слизистой оболочки

Лечение стоматита вызванного курением?

Некоторые люди считают стоматит спутником курения и убеждены, что в лечении он не нуждается. К сожалению, это опасное заблуждение. При переходе заболевания в хроническую стадию, оно осложняется появлением язв, а это прекрасная почва для размножения болезнетворных микроорганизмов и развития патологий.

Поэтому при возникновении проблемы большинство из нас задаётся вопросом, как лечить стоматит? В первую очередь необходимо бросить курить, тем самым дать возможность нёбу зажить и затянуться здоровой тканью. Ни в коем случае нельзя пускать ситуацию на самотёк, не заниматься самолечением и показаться доктору. Обязательно нужно провести терапевтическое лечение десен и санацию полости рта. Можно использовать препараты местного действия, различные гели.

Записаться на приём или проконсультироваться

Мы перезвоним в течение 15 - 20 мин.